History In Decades

A look at our rich history in African football.

The Beginning

Football was played as early as 1905 at the Transvaal Technical Institute but with the introduction of rugby four years later, it became a defunct activity... Read More!

1930 - 1940

In 1930, eight years after the Club was formed, the first team played its first match on grass! By 1930 the Club had formed an Under 20 team, the start of the now famous youth policy... Read More!

The first major trophy was won in 1943 when the Club won the Southern Transvaal First Division title... Read More!

1940 – 1950

1950 - 1960

The formation of the National Football League in July 1959, was an important development in South African football because it heralded the arrival of the professional game... Read More!

1960 - 1970

The Club made it to the NFL Second Division in 1961, playing as an amateur team...Read More!

The Clubs first big star product arrived as a first year student in 1975 and immediately made a strong impression. Gary Bailey went on to play for Manchester United and received his first England cap in March 1985... Read More!

1970 - 1980

1980 - 1990

The beginning of the 80’s saw the succession of Eddie Lewis by Mike Kenning, who led the Club to a very creditable third place behind Kaizer Chiefs The Clubs next major trophy was won in 1984 when Wits won the BP Top Eight under a new coach, Julie Kaplan... Read More!

1990 - 2000

The next major trophies were to come in 1995 when Wits won both the BP Top 8 and the Coca Cola Cup under John Lathan, who was by this time serving his second period as coach...Read More!

The installment of former South African goalkeeper Roger de Sa as new head coach at the start of the 2001/02 season, the team’s fortunes changed once again, as they were lead to a strong 7th place finish in the PSL... Read More!

2000 - 2010

2010 - Now

In July of 2012 Antonio Lopez Habas came on board as the new Head Coach, but only staying 6 months. Clive Barker took over in January 2013... Read More!"