Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Bidvest Wits look to add to City’s struggles

Bidvest Wits will look to add to Cape Town City’s struggles in the Absa Premiership when the teams meet at Cape Town Stadium on Saturday 18 January 2020.

Kick-off is at 6pm CAT.

City have managed just one win from their last eight league matches and suffered a 3-0 loss away to league leaders Kaizer Chiefs in their last outing on January 12. The Cape side has claimed just 12 points from nine home matches in the 2019/20 season, and sit just one point above the relegation zone.

Wits, by contrast, extended their unbeaten run in the league to seven matches with a 3-2 home victory over Bloemfontein Celtic on January 15, with Gift Motupa scoring a late winner. The Clever Boys have claimed 17 points from seven away matches and have yet to taste defeat on the road this season.

Gavin Hunt’s side remain very much in the title race provided that they can win their games in hand. Wits are 11 points off the pace of leaders Kaizer Chiefs, but they have played three fewer league matches.

In head-to-head stats, City and Wits have met in seven league matches since the 2016/17 season. Both the Citizens and the Clever Boys have claimed three wins, while one game has been drawn. The Cape side has recorded one draw and two defeats from their three previous home matches in the rivalry.

When the teams met earlier this season, at the Dobsonville Stadium in December 2019, Wits claimed a 2-0 win (their first home triumph in the rivalry) thanks to goals from Terrence Dzvukamanja and Thulani Hlatshwayo.

City’s line-up from their 3-0 loss to Chiefs on January 12: Leeuwenburgh, Martin, Fielies, Seedat (David 68’), Edmilson, Nodada, Kewuti, Makola, Mdantsane (Roberts 72’), Ralani (Lakay 81’), Erasmus.

Wits’ line-up from their 3-2 win over Celtic on January 15: Goss, Macheke, Hlatshwayo, Nonyane, Hlanti, Pelembe, Nange (Monare 69’), Alexander, Hotto, Dzvukamanja (Domingo 64’), Evanga (Motupa 76’).



Season: Result – Scorers

2016/17: Wits 2-3 CTC – Khumalo, Rodgers; Putsche, Manyama 2
2016/17: CTC 1-1 Wits – Gumede; Mahlambi (pen)
2017/18: Wits 0-1 CTC – Majoro
2017/18: City 1-2 Wits – Martin; Majoro 2
2018/19: City 0-2 Wits – Murray 2 (1 pen)
2018/19: Wits 2-3 CTC – Hlatshwayo, Motupa (pen); Erasmus, Ralani, Norodien
2019/20: Wits 2-0 CTC – Dzvukamanja, Hlatshwayo