Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Bidvest Wits outsmart Golden Arrows

Bidvest Wits defeated Lamontville Golden Arrows 1-0 in an Absa Premiership match at the Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium on Thursday evening.

Gift Motupa’s first-half goal took The Clever Boys to fifth place on the league table, while Abafana Bes’thende remained fourth on the standings.

The Clever Boys dominated the match from the start as they searched for an early goal which would have unsettled Abafana Besthende.

Motupa had a chance to break the deadlock in the 14th minute following a good run, but he was well-denied by Arrows goalkeeper Nkosingiphile Gumede.

The towering goalkeeper was then called into action again and made a diving save from Sameegh Doutie’s dangerous curling cross a few minutes later.

However, Gumede conceded a penalty after he was adjudged to have fouled Motupa in the box in the 32nd minute.

The former South African under-23 international then stepped up and beat Gumede from the spot-kick to make it 1-0 to Wits.

Arrows had a chance to equalize just before half-time, but Lindokuhle Mtshali’s effort was blocked by Buhle Mkhwanazi and Wits were leading 1-0 at the interval.

Wits continued to attack after the start as they looked to double their lead on a rainy evening in the city of Durban.

Gavin Hunt’s men were awarded a free-kick in a promising area in the 61st minute following a good move by the former Absa Premiership champions.

Elias Pelembe hit the crossbar from the set-piece with Gumede well-beaten.

Arrows were awarded a penalty after Siyabonga Dube was fouled in the box by Deon Hotto in the 71st minute, but Mutizwa hit the upright from the spot-kick.

The last chance of the game fell for Terrance Dzvukamanja with eight minutes left on the clock, but the Wits striker was denied by Gumede and fired wide from the rebound.

Ultimately, the match ended in a 1-0 victory in favour of Wits on the night.

Arrows (0) 0
Wits (1) 1 (Motupa 37′)

Arrows: Gumede, S.Dube, Sibisi, Mathiane, Lunga, Parusnath, L.Dube (Sibeko 59′), Phiri, Makhubela, Mtshali (Sibiya 70′) Mutizwa.

Wits: Goss, Hlanti, Mkhwanazi, Hlatshwayo, Macheke; Hotto, Alexander, Monare, Doutie (Domingo 67′), Motupa (Macuphu 61′), Pelembe (Dzvukamanja 82′).