Share, , Google Plus, Pinterest,


Posted in:

Its all about building the community

Bidvest Wits will participate in the third edition of the Gauteng Cup along with reigning champions for two years in a row Supersport United, and Jomo Cosmos.

What is the Gauteng Champion of Champions?

Gauteng remains the hub of activity in South Africa, including the economic hub for sports in our country. It’s positioning as “The Home of Champions” epitomizes the platform that Gauteng is able to present from a sporting perspective. The concept of the Gauteng Champion of Champions was borne out of an idea of putting together a unique and exciting football tournament with a large charitable component. Each team will select a charity that they will adopt and play for on the day of the tournament.

What are the rules?

The tournament will be played in a league (round robin) system, with each team playing against the other two teams. The team that amasses the highest number of points over its two games being declared the winner of the Third Edition of the Gauteng Champion of Champions.

Each match will last for 45 minutes with any additional minutes added at the discretion of the match officials. If the scores are level at the end of any 45-minute match, then a Dribble Out will take place replacing the traditional penalty shoot-out.

Only players that are on the field of play when the match ends are eligible to participate in the Dribble Out. The ball is placed on a Drop Zone mid-way between the halfway line and goal line. Both teams will be allowed three attempts at scoring a goal.

When the referee blows his whistle, the player will have ten seconds to advance toward the goal and attempt at scoring a goal in a one vs one situation. At the same time, the opposition goalkeeper will be allowed to move off his line in attempting to stop the attacking player from scoring a goal.

How does the point system work?

Points will be determined in the following way:

– Three points for a win during normal time
– Two points for a win after Dribble Out
– One point for a loss after Dribble Out
– Zero points for a loss during normal time.

In addition, one additional bonus point will be awarded to a team should they score two or more goals in any game. This means a maximum of four points per game for any winning team.

The overall goal difference will be the deciding factor if two or more teams finish level on points after all three matches have been played. The overall number of goals scored will come into effect if teams level on points cannot be determined by goal difference.

In the event that two or more teams still have identical records after goal difference and goals scored, then the head to head result between the teams concerned will be used to decide the winner of the tournament.

Who can play?

Each club will be entitled to have up to a maximum of 30 players as part of their squad.
Only 12 players and seven technical members are allowed to be on the bench during each match.

Each club can have two players (trialists) that are not registered with the PSL as part of their squad.
A total of three substitutions are allowed to be made in each match.


Team A: Supersport United

Team B: Jomo Cosmos

Team C: Bidvest Wits

Match one: 12h00 Supersport United vs Jomo Cosmos

Match two: 13h00 Bidvest Wits vs Loser from match one

Match three: 14h00 Bidvest Wits vs Winner from match one

Tickets will be on sale at the gate.

R20 Adults

Children get in for free.

Follow us on Twitter for all the action live from Vosloorus Stadium on Saturday the 7th of October.