Nominees for the Absa Premiership End of Season Awards


With a disappointing result for Bidvest Wits in the PSL 2011-2012 Season. There is some hope in the near distant future. That hope is represented in the youth driven methodology the Club holds, it can be seen in the nomination of ABSA HOT Young Player 20 year old Lehlohonolo Masalesa who wears jersey 23. Viera as he is known to his team mates, joined Bidvest Wits at the beginning of January 2011 from Platinum Stars. Viera also has seen great success thus far with Bidvest Wits, getting regular call up’s to the Bidvest Wits starting 11 and a call up in 2012 to Bafana Bafana.

Bidvest Wits would like to send a congratulation out to Lehlohonolo ‘Viera’ Masalesa and all the best for the future.

The nominees for the 2011/2012 Absa Premiership Awards, in no particular order are:

Absa HOT Young Player:
• Lucky Baloyi – Kaizer Chiefs
• Ronwen Williams – SuperSport United
Lehlohonolo Masalesa – Bidvest Wits

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season:
• Wayne Sandilands – Mamelodi Sundowns
• Ronwen Williams – SuperSport United
• Moeneeb Josephs – Orlando Pirates

Absa–lutely Awesome Goal:
• Clifford Mulenga – Golden Arrows vs Bloemfontein Celtic
• David Mathebula – Moroka Swallows vs Orlando Pirates
• Benni McCarthy – Orlando Pirates vs Maritzburg United

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season:
• Gavin Hunt – SuperSport United
• Gordon Igesund – Moroka Swallows
• Steve Khompela – Free State Stars

Absa Premiership Player of the Season:
• David Mathebula – Moroka Swallows
• Siyabonga Sangweni – Orlando Pirates
• Siyabonga Nomvethe – Moroka Swallows

Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season:
• Teko Modise
• David Mathebula
• Siyabonga Nomvethe

To all the other nominees all the best from Bidvest Wits F.C.

Lehlohonolo Masalesa and Clever Boys
[youtube url="" width="580" height="360" autoplay="false"]